CFP: IASPM Canada 2014, Deadline Extended

by Mike D'Errico on January 8, 2014

The deadline for submissions has been extended to Monday, January 20.

IASPM Canada 31st Annual Conference
Université Laval
May 23-25, 2014

This year’s conference will take place at Université Laval in Quebec City. Founded in 1663, Laval is the oldest francophone university in North America and one of Canada’s leading research institutions. The university provides easy access to Quebec City with its stimulating combination of historic architecture and a vibrant and diverse cultural life.

We welcome proposals on any topic relating to popular music for this open un-themed conference. Proposals for single papers, workshops, performances or other forms of presentation may be submitted. Abstracts for individual papers, roundtables, and workshops should be no longer than 300 words; proposals for panels should include an abstract for the panel as a whole (300 words max.) as well as an individual abstract for each paper proposed for the panel (300 words max.). It is possible that the program committee may accept a panel but reject an individual paper on that panel.

Proposals must be submitted as Microsoft Word or rft files and must include your name and institutional affiliation (i.e., university). Please use your last name as the document’s file name–e.g., “Hendrix.doc” NOT “IASPM abstract.doc”). Please do not submit your proposal as a PDF file.

You can submit your abstract in French or English, depending on the language in which the paper will be presented before 20 January 2014 to Submissions will receive a response from the committee by 10 February 2014.

Papers will be limited to a standard 20-minute length followed by 10 minutes of questions, whereas other presentations will be limited to 60 minutes. All participants must be members of IASPM-Canada or provide proof of membership in another IASPM national chapter. Membership information is available on the following website:

For questions about the conference, contact program chair, Richard Sutherland ( or local arrangements co-chair Serge Lacasse (

Previous post:

Next post: